Donate and Join LEA Today!

Woodland Owner Appreciation Day

Jack Hernandez and Paul Larrivee lead the Forestry 202 walk. Photo courtesy of Portland Water District and Mark Hunt.

A huge thank you to our partners and participants who made this year’s WOAD event a huge success. We had 70 landowners participate in the day, who had a chance to network and talk with each other about issues they are facing together, and chat with resource professionals from wildlife biologists to foresters to land trusts. Incredible! If you missed it, not to worry! We will have our annual gathering in 2022 in the fall, so keep an eye out. Also, this winter LEA will host a number of focused webinars on topics from the WOAD event as well, we’ll keep you posted. Contacts below for partners at the event this year, and if you have questions please email alanna@mainelakes.org.

Fore more information about this year’s event, check out the article in the Bridgton News!

Matt Markot of LELT leads a land conservation talk under the tent. Photo courtesy of Portland Water District and Mark Hunt.

Forestry 101 with Shane and Jesse
Shane Duigan, Maine Forest Service District Forester: Shane.P.Duigan@maine.gov (other district foresters: https://apps.web.maine.gov/dacf/mfs/policy_management/district_foresters.html )
Jesse Duplin, private consulting Forester Northwest Forest Managementjduplin@nwforestmanagement.com
Forestry 202 with Paul and Jack:
Jack Hernandez, Maine Forest Service Landowner Outreach Forester: john.d.hernandez@maine.gov
Paul Larrivee, private consulting Forester 207 Forestry: paul.larrivee@gmail.com
 
Birds and Wildlife
Sally Stockwell, Maine Audubon Wildlife Biologist and Director of Conservation: sstockwell@maineaudubon.org
Joseph Roy, Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist: joseph.roy@maine.gov
Conservation Talk under tent:
Matt Markot, Loon Echo Land Trust: matt@lelt.org
Partners with tables:
Kelly French, Maine Tree Farmkelly@mainetree.org
Jenn Hicks, Maine Woodland Ownersjenn@mainewoodlandowners.org
Kirk Siegel, Mahoosuc Land Trustkirk@mahoosuc.org
Other partners who are great connections:
Hannah Mullally, US Fish and Wildlife Biologist in Maine: hannah_mullally@fws.gov
Karen Young, Sebago Clean Waterskyoung@sebagocleanwaters.org
Noah Gleason-Hart, MOFGA Low Impact Forestry (and chainsaw safety courses): forestry@mofga.org
Karl Honkonen, US Forest Service Forest Watershed Specialist: karl.w.honkonen@usda.gov

If meeting in person is not your thing right now, here are some resources to get you started on your forest management journey! You may find them totally overwhelming; there is a lot out there. Start with your district forester, and go from there.

To walk in the woods with your district forester, talk about your vision, and hear some options: find your district forester here.

Interested in managing for migrating songbirds? Check out the Forestry for Maine Birds | Maine AudubonForestry for Maine Birds program from Maine Audubon.

Here are some Fact sheets from the Maine Forest Service for different management techniques.

More about Maine Tree farm program, and Maine Woodland Owners. And, if you’re a woman who owns a woodland, check out Women Owning Woodlands!

Maybe you don’t have a large woodlot but are interested in protecting woods, waters, wildlife, and way of life. Please connect with a local land trust: Loon Echo Land Trust, Greater Lovell Land Trust, Western Foothills Land Trust,  or donate to the Sebago Clean Waters fund to help protect the upper Sebago Lake watershed.

Still not sure where to start? Shoot me an email and let’s have a chat: alanna@mainelakes.org

 

Thank you for keeping the woods, woods! 

[mc4wp_form id="2536"]